Slice #26: Music for Learning

I’m the type of teacher who loves to have music playing in the background in my classroom. There is something so soothing about it, and it truly helps the kids to focus more. I’ve found that when there is no music, they talk more and get more distracted – almost as if they feel like they need to fill in the noise. 🙂 I play everything from classical to movie soundtracks to fun, upbeat songs with words to set the mood. Music is a big part of who I am and I love that I can incorporate that into the classroom.

39 thoughts on “Slice #26: Music for Learning

  1. Music is powerful, encouraging, inspiring. I love walking into classrooms and hearing it. Glad you incorporate this positive practice into the school day. What fun!

  2. I feel the same way! We have music for the morning, different music for reading, and completely different music for writing. After a week of computers, I was going crazy without Pandora.com!

  3. I totally agree with you that music can be a powerful tool in the classroom. At the same time, I’m not very musical and have a hard time choosing good music to use. Would love to see a playlist of some of your favorites! That might even be a good slice!

Leave a Reply

